Who Says Comparative Anatomy Is Easy?

Slept by 1:20 am. Woke up again by 4:01 am. Then memorized a looooong list of anatomical terms for the exam at the next few hours. I opened my “Comparative Anatomy of Vertebrates” book by Kent with a deep sigh, and a belief that I would memorize the complex terms and remember every origin and fate of the organs and germ layers. I leafed through the pages with much haste, and with fear.. fear that I may not at all recall the terms I just memorized. Once or twice, hesitation grabbed my neck.. why study if you will eventually fail? No! I will, and must not fail; I have asserted much effort in this subject. I know I can be better.

 In the stillness of the early hours, I was reading swiftly from point to point, paragraph to paragraph, and descriptions to description, examined all the available illustrations and laboratory slides which I photographed during our laboratory class.

I shoved my books in my backpack and immediately headed out. I kept telling myself that I can do this, that deep inside, my soul shouts for nothing but calmness. I yearned for postponement, for a delay. But he was there, our instructor, walking down the stairs with brimming coolness. Oh, we wish we could be as calm as he is.

The exam was in three parts. First, you cite the morphological origin and fate of the given organs during embryogenesis, cell differentiation, and gastrulation. You have thirty minutes to answer it all, and the worst part is – it’s write-minus-wrong. If your answer is wrong or you left it blank, then it will be deducted to your correct answers. Second part, the discussion of the ontogeny and phylogeny of the given words with the aid of a diagram. This time, you have one hour to answer it all. And the worst, the third, a laboratory moving exam. There are ten questions for each number which you would have to answer for two and a half minutes, which means, you have 12 seconds for each question. There are thirty stations with their ten respected question, the slides are in front – whether mounted in a microscope, photographed, or with figures. All you have to do is answer each question of the thirty numbers, therefore, 12 seconds for each question out of 300. Thus, another one hour for the third exam. And oh, did I mention, the passing rate is 70%. Who says Comparative Anatomy is easy? May my answers be as clear and comprehensible as what I thought it was.

I remained cross – fingered for the rest of the day. For now, the mattress is calling me and my body is weak, a handful of beautiful dreams is waiting for me.

2 thoughts on “Who Says Comparative Anatomy Is Easy?

  1. shakm says:

    beautiful dreams kaya? pagdating mo naman house is Hulabera agad. LOL.

Leave a Reply

